

ATHLETE ADVISORY GROUP ELECTION PROCEDURES

Effective April 1, 2023

Overview

These procedures shall outline the election process for U.S. Paralympics Cycling's (USP CYC) Athlete Advisory Group (AAG) members as per section 2.c. of the AAG Charter.

Eligibility

The eligible athlete pool shall be comprised of those athletes who meet all of the following criteria:

- a) Athlete has represented the United States at the Paralympic Games, Parapan American Games, or World Championships within the ten (10) years preceding election or appointment.
- b) Athlete currently holds or retired from Para-cycling holding a Paralympic eligible international sport class in Para-cycling.
- c) Athlete was credentialed as Aa ('Athlete') or Ab ('Guide') at the event(s) in 3.a. above in which they participated.
- d) Athlete is at least 16 years of age.

Election Administration

USP CYC shall administer the election. Contact info for USP CYC Staff is as follows:

lan Lawless Dir, U.S. Paralympics Cycling lan.lawless@usopc.org Jenny Ryan Mgr., U.S. Paralympics Cycling Jenny.ryan@usopc.org

Election Process

USP CYC will send an email to all eligible athletes requesting those interested in serving as a member on the Athletes 'Advisory Group (AAG) to fill out a Declaration of Candidacy. The Declaration of Candidacy form must be completed via Qualtrics.

USP CYC will compile the list of eligible athletes who have self-nominated to run for election as a USP CYC AAG representative as per section 2.c. of the AAG charter. The list of candidates will be emailed to all athletes in the eligible athlete pool.



Voting will be conducted via email and all athletes in the eligible athlete pool will receive a ballot.

- When casting a ballot, athletes shall vote for two (2) candidates.
- The top two (2) candidates with the most votes cast shall be elected to the AAG as per section 2.c. of the AAG Charter.
- If there is a tie in the number of votes cast a run-off election will be conducted with only those candidates involved in the tie on the run-off ballot. The candidate with the most votes cast shall be elected.

Vacancies

In the event that any of the elected positions, excluding Chair and Vice-chair, on the AAG become vacant for any reason, the vacancy will be filled for the remainder of the term by inviting the next highest non-elected candidate (and so on) from the results list from the most recent AAG elections.

In the event that the position of Chair becomes vacant for any reason, the Vice-chair shall become the Chair.

In the event that the position of Vice-chair becomes vacant for any reason, the members of the AAG will elect a replacement from amongst the elected members of the AAG for the remainder of the term, in accordance with the voting process set out above. The newly elected Vice-chair will assume dual responsibilities serving as the sport's Alternate representative on the Team USA Athletes' Commission.

In the event that any of the appointed positions on the AAG become vacant for any reason, the vacancy may be filled by appointment by the AAG Nominating Committee, AAG Charter Section 4. Any such appointment shall terminate at the end of the current quad/term.



DRAFT ELECTION TIMELINE

- **TBD** USP CYC shall distribute the Election Process and Timeline Guidelines to its 10-year rule athletes along with the AAG Charter Language.
- **TBD** USP CYC shall call for self-nominations from eligible candidates. Nominations should minimally include a written statement of intent and may include a resume or any other information pertaining to an athlete's ability to serve the Mission of the AAG.
- **TBD** USP CYC shall distribute the list of eligible nominees, along with statements of intent and other candidate submissions, disclosures, and voting instructions to eligible voters.
- **TBD** USP CYC shall conduct an election where the top two candidates with the most votes are named the members of the AAG, respectively.
- **TBD** If a second round of voting is necessary, USP CYC will e-mail ballots with the top three candidates.
- **TBD –** USP CYC shall notify the AAG Nominating Committee of the results.