

2024 TIAA BIG TEN WOMEN'S BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT



Game 12 • Sunday, March 10, 2024 Target Center • Minneapolis, Minn. FINAL: #2 Iowa d. #5 Nebraska, 94-89 (OT) RECORDS: Nebraska (22-11), Iowa (29-4)

GAME NOTES

NEBRASKA NOTES

- Nebraska was making its first Big Ten Tournament championship appearance in 10 years and its third final overall.
- Nebraska's 89 points were the most scored by a losing team in the championship game.
- The Huskers were playing four games in four days after knocking off No. 12 Purdue, No. 4 Michigan State and No. 8 Maryland.
- Jaz surpasses Mazz: Jaz Shelley set a single tournament record with 16 3-point field goals, breaking a mark held by Kelly Mazzante of Penn State for 22 years.
- Alex Markowski (23 points, 13 rebounds) tied a Nebraska record with her 40th career double-double.
- Nebraska set a Big Ten Championship record with 14 made three-pointers.

IOWA NOTES

- Third-ranked Iowa becomes the fourth school to win three consecutive Big Ten Tournament titles. The Hawkeyes have won six overall (1997, 2001, 2019, 2022, 2023, 2024), including five under Head Coach Lisa Bluder.
- Iowa trailed at the half (-11) for just the third time this season.
- The Hawkeyes averaged 94.6 points over three games at the tournament.
- Caitlin Clark finished with a game-high 34 points and is the tournament's all-time leading scorer with 317 points in 13 games. She tied the Big Ten Championship record with 5 threepointers.
- Caitlin Clark's current career points total: 3,771
- Hannah Stuelke became the third Hawkeye to surpass 400 points on the year.

MISCELLANEOUS/TOURNAMENT NOTES

- This afternoon's game was the second Big Ten Final to go into overtime in 2012, Purdue edged Nebraska in 2OTs.
- The game featured 16 lead changes, eight by each side. Nebraska led for 33:56 and Iowa led for 8:45.
- Nebraska and Iowa were meeting for the 40th time. Iowa owns a 24-16 edge in the series, having won 12 of the last 14 games. The teams split during the regular season.

Most Outstanding Player

Caitlin Clark, Iowa
Clark earns her third-straight Jim & Kitty Delany Most Outstanding Player Award.

All-Tournament Team

Caitlin Clark, Iowa Jaz Shelley, Nebraska Laila Phelia, Michigan Alexis Markowski, Nebraska Sydney Affolter, Iowa