October 31, 2023

Mark Wilson Chair, Corewell Health West Finance Committee

The Finance Advisory Committee (FAC) is established under the Consent Decree to provide counsel to the Finance Committee of Corewell Health West (formerly Spectrum Health West Michigan) during the budgeting process.

Hardik Dalal, SVP, Finance, Corewell Health West, and members of his team recently provided the FAC with an overview of the Corewell Health West budget for the year ending December 31, 2024, which included review of key revenue and expense assumptions along with discussion of business risks and opportunities impacting both the insurance coverage and healthcare delivery system. Our discussions were candid, and management was very responsive to our requests for information.

Based on Mr. Dalal's detailed presentation and his responses to questions raised by the FAC, we conclude that the 2024 budget supports the objective of providing the community with excellent healthcare outcomes in a cost-effective manner, while building a sustainable organization for the future.

In addition, Mr. Dalal provided an overview of Key System Initiatives for 2024 in support of the mission, vision, and values in the System Strategic Plan, which includes the vision statement, "a future where health is simple, affordable, equitable and exceptional. The FAC fully supports continued efforts to improve Corewell Health West's value proposition to its customers and making affordability a key element of its vision statement.

As in prior years, we specifically solicited comments from the payer community for consideration in the budgeting process. We will also attend the virtual Community Meeting, where Corewell Health West's management will present its budget to the community at large. If any other concerns regarding Corewell Health West's financial plans come to our attention as a result, I will communicate them to you following the Community Meeting.

Sincerely,

Martin R. Jennings

Chair, Finance Advisory Committee

mather R. Gunning

Finance Advisory Committee Members: Martin Jennings, Win Irwin, Holly Johnson, Mark Mossing, Jerry Vander Wal.